Home > Finance > BJP list of central office bearers to be out soon

BJP list of central office bearers to be out soon


The list of BJP central office bearers that will assist party chief JP Nadda will be released in a few days but no union minister from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s team is likely to be moved to the organisation, according to party sources.

Unlike in the past where some union ministers dropped from the council of ministers were given a place in the organisation, BJP intends to draw leaders solely from the party for the new team.

“We have enough capable people in the organisation for the office bearers’ posts,” a senior BJP leader said when asked if some union ministers may be inducted into Nadda’s team. The list has been prepared after getting suggestions and inputs from the state units and consultation among the top leaders and the RSS.

While in 2014 the entire union council of ministers had been put together without prior experience and a reshuffle was necessitated a few months later based on performance and the need for expansion, the 2019 team is broadly a continuation of the old team. The changes made in Modi 2.0—like in the case of portfolios or induction of Amit Shah, S Jaishankar and others—were done after elaborate planning.

However, this does not rule out the much-expected reshuffle in the union council of ministers. While Jyotiraditya Scindia is waiting to be made a union minister, there are some ministers with additional charge of ministries that may be allocated to other party MPs.

Piyush Goyal (commerce and railways), Prakash Javadekar (information & broadcasting, environment and forests and heavy industries) and Hardeep Singh Puri (housing and urban development, and civil aviation) are some examples of ministers holding additional portfolios.

The party had plans of releasing the list of Central office bearers and the new BJP Executive members during the Navratras in late March but it was delayed due to the Covid-19 lockdown. Nadda had taken over as BJP chief on January 20.

“There was also the issue of how the first meeting of the office bearers will be held due to the new social distancing norms. Holding the meeting through video conferencing would be odd. But now it is feasible,” a BJP leader said.

There are four vacancies in the BJP Parliamentary Board due to the elevation of M Venkaiah Naidu as vice president of India and the passing away of Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Ananth Kumar.

The new team of office bearers will not see any drastic changes with “continuity” being the motto, according to sources. There are indications that only one-fourth of the team will comprise new faces. Some posts in the central office bearers list have been vacant for some time and will be filled while a few of the incumbents may see a change in their role or position.

BJP is also likely to have a new head of the Media Department as Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni has expressed his wish to shoulder other responsibilities. Some of the party morchas (fronts) will also see a change of leadership.

After the resignation of Himachal Pradesh unit chief Rajeev Bindal in the PPE kit scam, his replacement is likely to be announced in the next few days. Gujarat state unit chief Jitu Vaghani has been holding the post since August 2016 and his successor will be declared soon. Haryana will also have a new BJP chief and the name of union minister Krishan Pal Gurjar has been doing the rounds.

Source link

TAGS , , , ,
Hi guys, this is Kimmy, I started LicensetoBlog to help you with the latest updated news about the world with daily updates from all leading news sources. Beside, I love to write about several niches like health, business, finance, travel, automation, parenting and about other useful topics to keep you find the the original information on any particular topic. Hope you will find LicensetoBlog helpful in various ways. Keep blogging and help us grow as a community for internet lovers.