Home > Finance > BJP and its allies comes back to power in Assam, party yet to decide next CM

BJP and its allies comes back to power in Assam, party yet to decide next CM


The BJP and its allies have come back to power in Assam riding on the pro-incumbency wave but the party is yet to decide who the next chief minister will be.

Even during campaigning, the party had avoided questions if the incumbent chief minister, Sarbananda Sonowal, will be given a second term. It had maintained that the parliamentary board will decide the chief minister after the election.

Assam finance minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma, one of the contender’s for the CM’s post, and who won by nearly 1.2 lakh votes from Jalukbari seat told media persons, “I do not want to talk about it because it is not in my purview. BJP’s parliamentary board will decide on it at the opportune time. Results of elections are still coming, let things get settled. We will decide on the time and date of the new government taking over.”

  • All
  • West Bengal
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Assam
  • Kerala
  • Puducherry

  • Most people close to Sarma and who got tickets have won the polls.

    Minister for Development of North Eastern Region Jitender Singh told mediapersons that the BJP will decide on the next chief minister in a democratic way once counting is over. Once the results are notified, a decision will be taken in consultation with the top BJP leadership.

    Sweeping the tea tribe dominated Upper Assam, besides the North Bank of Brahmaputra and the hill districts, the BJP on its own has won 57 seats, while its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) have won 11 seats and 8 seats respectively.

    In 2016, BJP had 61 MLAs while AGP had won 14 seats. The majority mark in the 126-member assembly is 64.

    Two regional parties formed to protest against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA)–– Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Raijor Dal–– suffered a humiliating defeat. Jailed Raijor Dal leader Akhil Gogoi won from Sivasagar in absentia.

    The 10-party alliance, led by the Congress, was defeated as the Mahajhot (Grand Alliance) was restricted to 45 seats.

    Congress won 30 seats, while its ally, the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won 14 seats, CPI(M) opened its account with one seat. Congress ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) was routed in Bodoland with the party managing to win only two seats.

    Congress won 26 seats in the 2016 assembly. However, after resignations and the demise of some members, the number was reduced to 20. The AIUDF had then won 13 seats. In 2016, Congress had won seven seats in Upper Assam. However, it is now reduced to five.

    In the 2011 and 2016 assembly polls, BPF has swept the polls winning all the 12 seats. Prior to the 2021 election, BPF left the BJP-led alliance and joined the Grand Alliance. Three ministers, including Pramila Rani Brahma, Rihon Daimary and Chandan Brahma, were defeated.

    BJP candidate Angoorlata Deka lost from Batardraba. Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Ripun Bora lost from Gohpur.

    Sonowal said people have reposed faith in the BJP and its allies. “I am grateful to the people of Assam for giving us a second term. The verdict is loud and clear “Aako Ebar BJP Sarkar” (Once again, BJP government).”

    Source link

    TAGS , , , , , ,
    Hi guys, this is Kimmy, I started LicensetoBlog to help you with the latest updated news about the world with daily updates from all leading news sources. Beside, I love to write about several niches like health, business, finance, travel, automation, parenting and about other useful topics to keep you find the the original information on any particular topic. Hope you will find LicensetoBlog helpful in various ways. Keep blogging and help us grow as a community for internet lovers.